Picture
What to do? How much to take? What to choose?
The thoughts of an honest worker with nothing to lose
Chose to do what’s best and risked it all as it seems
It was a lot, and I could spread loot throughout the family

What was it supposed to be for? My own personal gain?
Stealing from criminals and causing them eternal pain
Scorching in flames, it gave a way for committing a sin
Given a reason to return to a cave again and again

Working a cold sweat for close to nothing checks
I need something or someone to reverse this debt
Even though hate in my heart is the only thing I lack
I’m cutting wood and doing good yet getting nothing back

A simple workingman, an intelligent lucid thinker
Saw my chance and went, hook line and sinker
Took a little at a time but I think time to think a-
Bout, with or without my mouth, and without a doubt

Technically my patience paved the way for greater days
Son married my worker, gold buried within a cave
Brother is in a rage over greed and materialistic
Items, fighting for riches that are close to realistic

Love overcomes everything when enough’s enough
If I take too much then I’ll surely push my luck
I’m an average man; I used my brain and solved a problem
A solemn promise to dig my family from rock bottom

Was it meant to be? Was I even meant to see?
Could I have not peaked throughout the trees a little moreclosely?
Posed’ to be make-believe, chose to embrace the greed
Trying to feed my seed and succeed for my family

Gold coins peeling the air shining in the light
Taking is bad but the timing was right
The chance was tempting and I wanted a piece
With compassion for my loved ones, thick as thieves

Those days my daughter was one of my only saviors
Who did what was right when her dad was in danger
Slave was in the kitchen, closely watched and listened
Took time to pay attention and to her marriage was given

Behind in thought because strangers stole the moment
Along with my attention but I never loaned it
With a loyal servant who has learned to serve her purpose
Saved everyone’s dermis, turned out to be far from worthless

Weak feeling from my spine jolting into my knees
A time for outlaws revolting against the king to bring
Stolen goods into a cave with a password that should
Be used by a misunderstood ‘Arabic robin hood’

May be under stress but going in was my best bet
My brother worked a sweat for another and ended that indeath
A sense of regret, shouldn't have been as curious
About the situation, could have not been as serious

Crooks probably ended up in a place full of lit torches
Because stealing sends you below with the flame and scorches
Moral of the story is don’t act out of the ordinary
Unless you’re helping loved ones even when it’s fairly scary
Picture
Upsana
2/4/2011 12:19:13 am

You are really good writer! I really enjoyed your poem. It was a bit long to read however, it was a very catchy poem.

Reply
2/4/2011 12:28:59 am

You are really good writer! I really enjoyed your poem. It was a bit long to read, however it was a very catchy poem.

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.